1970’s Hair Care

Ahhh, Agree Shampoo. I can smell the slightly earthy fragrance even now. The 70’s proved to be the birth of many brands of hair care products – it was the beginning of the ‘at home’ hair care boom!

Do you remember:
Faberge (if you tell two friends . . .) and that great honeycomb bottle!
Gee, Your Hair Smells Terrific!
Tame
Wella Balsam
Breck

Yup, this was certainly a defining moment for me – I became a slave to my shampoo. Because I really did want my hair to smell terrific!

 

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kmnnz on August 27, 2011 at 2:34 am

    I also remember Prell and Pert. Or was Pert in the ’80s??

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sandy on January 1, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Prell was my shampoo of choice back in the 70’s. “I was flat, till I went fluffy!” LOL!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Julie Husslein on October 20, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    I love your website!!! It’s amazing!!! Keep up the good work!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mike on March 1, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    And don’t forget Lemon Up, “with real lemon,” and Body On Tap, “made with real beer.” And what about Flex shampoo?

    Reply

    • Oh (it wouldn’t let me edit my original comment) you can get those shampoos, Body on Tap and Lemon Up, in the original formulas from the Vermont Country Store (along with many other nostalgic products)

      Reply

  5. Posted by TS on March 4, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    Herbal Essence. The best smelling stuff….

    Reply

  6. WOW just left a comment on another post about AGREE. Smelled like heaven …wish they would use the fragrance in something else.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Nancy Fisher Hartmann on July 27, 2016 at 2:57 pm

    I LOVED Milk-Plus 6 by Revlon shampoo!! Also there was Earth Born shampoo, the original Herbal Essence, Body On Tap shampoo.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Nancy Fisher Hartmann on July 27, 2016 at 2:59 pm

    Milk plus 6 shampoo, original Herbal Essence!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

