Advertising Made Simple

Ahh, Bubble Yum and the Compact SuperCurl. Two of my favorite things back in 1977. I remember getting the SuperCurl for Christmas – wow was I on cloud nine! It’s interesting to me, looking back on old ads from the 1970s, how simple they were and yet they did the trick oh-so-well.  Not alot of bells and whistles and I still would covet anything these ads were pushing my way – even as a young kid. Of course, there weren’t as many products or as many companies pushing a multitude of items. It was a much simpler time for advertising competition.  You had a few department stores and a handfull of drug stores veying for your hard-earned bucks. Sears, JC Penny’s, Macys, K Mart, Emporium. TG & Y, Payless Drug Stores.  Christmas shopping was EASY back then. Now, it’s a frantic mess of store hopping in hopes of getting just a few presents on Santa’s list. The Big Box Stores have alot, but not necessarily everything. Gaming stores, home improvement stores, linen stores, book stores, online stores – I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed! And I’m longing for the days when all I wanted for Christmas was a clock radio. Or a SuperCurl Compact Curling Iron!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sykravitz on December 6, 2010 at 5:33 am

    very cool. Happy Days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

