Bored in Suburbia

The Great American Novel Part II

Seriously, what else were bored kids in suburbia to do during the summer? There was only one mall, and it was a small one at that. We had “free swim” at the local high school during the day, the rope swing in the creek, and boring, hot summer nights to get into trouble. And boy did we try our best to get into trouble. I could say that I was influenced by my older brother to be the vandal that I inevitably became, but that would be a lie. I think I influenced HIM to be a vandal. Being a rebel felt liberating. Doing ‘bad things’ felt good. And the fun that ensued was only the tip of the rebel life I was sliding into – I can look back on it now and say “aha! THAT’S were it started!” but at the time, I had no idea WHAT I had started.


Leave a Reply

