How to look (and smell) good, 70’s style

Oh, the things young teenage girls bought (or in my case, shoplifted) in the late 1970’s. My ‘looking good’ obsession started with Bonne Bell Lip Smackers. My personal favs were grape, Dr Pepper and watermelon. They sold big fatty versions too. And then there was the highly addictive Maybelline Kissing Potion. What a gooey liquid mess these were! But with flavors like bubble gum and kola, how could I resist? The Kissing Potion came in a clear liquid with a roller ball applicator.

Besides the ever-popular Loves Baby Soft, I also wore a fragrance called Blue Jeans. I can still smell the light, musky scent. And yes, I most definitely wore the cologne while skating at our local roller rink in an attempt to drive the boys wild. Then there was Babe by Faberge. Not only could you buy the fragrance, you could get soaps, lotions and deodorant too! And what girl didn’t want to be a Babe?

Last, but not least, one of the easiest items to um, lift. Eyeliner pencils. Small and easy to conceal, an enterprising young girl could lift 4-6 of these pencils at a time. Along with lipstick and nail polish, I’m sure I amassed a large collection of popular cosmetics. What? We were bored and we wanted to look good, and our measly allowance wasn’t nearly enough to keep us in style!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by theresa on December 2, 2012 at 6:23 am

    I use to swipe bonne bell too! I used to also have the roll on lip gloss. Unfortunately for me, I also had roll on cologne and accidentally used that once as lip gloss!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rhoda Morgenstern on July 31, 2013 at 7:00 am

    The Bonne Bell stuff tasted great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

